Decisions and Behaviour

DECISIONS AND BEHAVIOUR

The Decisions and Behavior Research Axis explores all the dimensions of decision making in the context of individual or group economic, managerial, financial, and social choices.

RESEARCH CHALLENGES ARE BASED ON THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS:

  • How can individuals set the limits of their useful/relevant information interval?
  • How do individuals select the benchmark group and the paths on which interactions can lead to performance and not to loss of resources?
  • What mechanisms can individuals use to measure effort or attribute value to the contributions of others as well as to the communication system, working together with others to transform the information available into useful information (social and antisocial behaviour)?
  • What connections can be found between common knowledge and social construction in a team?
  • What stereotypes are associated with compliance and proximity standards?
  • What are the factors facilitating internal communication (projects associated with the fields of the environment, wine, and food)?
  • How do reasoning, human and digital tools work in companies, teams and markets?

This Axis hosts a laboratory devoted to experimental economics – the LESSAC [Laboratory for Experimentation in Social Sciences and Behavioral Analysis] – and a research chair (EMMAS).

LESSAC : A DEDICATED LABORATORY

Supervised since 2008 by Angela Sutan, LESSAC centralizes the whole of experimental activities in economics at BSB. The data resulting from LESSAC experimentations provide qualitative responses to companies’ decision-making challenges.
The lab is designed as a platform open to all the school’s researchers wishing to use experimental methods for their research and to explore decision-making mechanisms in the fields of management, finance, or marketing. LESSAC, which was given an experimental room in 2016, stands among the most proficient experimental-economics labs in France and in Europe.

LESSAC HAS 4 RESEARCH MISSIONS:

#1

Providing new insights into different problems relating to decision theory, game theory, psychology and microeconomic theory by engaging with the individual’s adaptation of empirical strategies in the presence of substitutabilities/complementarities/anticipated actions of others.

#2

Disseminating the decision and management theory findings in peer-reviewed international publications, specialist academic journals and generalist or specialist professional journals in economics.

#3

Introducing and focusing on experimental methods in pedagogy and teaching, with the aim of transferring knowledge to enable relevant solutions for decision-makers to support comprehension/regulation of decision-making.

#4

Implementing experimental methodology in matters relating to decision-making and data collection, and expanding on of the use of these impartial methods among professionals and academics.

A MEDICO-MARKETING EVALUATION CHAIR FOR HEALTH CLAIMS (EMMAS)

Created under the leadership of Francois-Andre Allaert, the EMMAS Chair is primarily engaged in the evaluation of new products making health-related allegations, but also with the evaluation of new health-related behaviours of patients and consumers.

THE CHAIR’S RESEARCH PROGRAMME IS ORGANISED AROUND FIVE COMPLEMENTARY THEMES:

The design of specific methodologies to evaluate health allegations of food products, neutriceuticals and supplements, now a mandatory requirement under European legislation, and to review their application to those health food products and supplements.

The development of nutri-epidemiological and observational studies by doctors and pharmacists in the context of daily practice, aimed at establishing the actual health benefit of functional food or supplements in real life.

The study of socio-demographic and academic determinants in people’s food choices and in the identification of the concept of well-being and its evaluation by reproducible quantitative methods.

The management and security of the collection of personal medical and nutritional information for purposes of nutri-epidemiological and observational studies, including those that may be extracted from the information systems of public and private health institutions. By extension, the application of the methods of curation to new ways of managing patients, such as telemedicine.

A new emerging theme, around connected objects.

FOR MORE INFORMATIONS… CONTACT :

Angela SUTAN
Axis coordinator
+33 (0) 380 725 900
angela.sutan@bsb-education.com

OUR PARTNERS

Décisions et comportements - Burgundy School Of Business

Décisions et comportements

DÉCISIONS ET COMPORTEMENTS

L’axe Décisions et Comportements s’interroge sur les composants et paramètres de la prise de décision (analyse des mécanismes d’adaptation des stratégies individuelles), à travers l’étude des choix économiques, managériaux, financiers, sociaux, portés par les individus ou les groupes.

LES PROBLÉMATIQUES DE RECHERCHE SE CONSTRUISENT AUTOUR DES QUESTIONNEMENTS SUIVANTS :

  • Comment les individus peuvent-ils fixer les limites de leur intervalle d’information pertinente/utile ?
  • Comment l’individu sélectionne-t-il le groupe de référence et les voies par lesquelles les interactions peuvent conduire à la performance plutôt qu’à une perte de ressources ?
  • Selon quels mécanismes les individus peuvent-ils mesurer l’effort ou attribuer un mérite aux contributions des autres ainsi qu’au dispositif de communication, en travaillant conjointement avec les autres à transformer l’information disponible en information utile?
  • Comment analyser les comportements sociaux et antisociaux ?

• Quels liens peuvent être identifiés entre la connaissance commune et la construction sociale au sein d’une équipe ?
• Quels stéréotypes sont associés à des normes de conformité et de proximité ?
• Quels sont les lubrifiants de la communication interne et les attributs de croyances (projets associés aux domaines de l’environnement, du vin et de l’alimentation) ?  

  • Comment fonctionnent les raisonnements, outils humains et numériques au sein des entreprises, des équipes et des marchés?

Cet Axe héberge un laboratoire dédié à l’économie expérimentale – le LESSAC – et une chaire de recherche (EMMAS). 

LABORATOIRE D’EXPÉRIMENTATION EN SCIENCES SOCIALES ET ANALYSE DES COMPORTEMENTS (LESSAC)

Supervisé depuis 2008 par Angela Sutan, le LESSAC centralise les activités d’économie expérimentale de l’école. Les données ainsi produites fournissent une réponse qualitative aux enjeux liés à la prise de décision en entreprise.  

Le LESSAC est une plateforme ouverte à tous les chercheurs de l’école, qui souhaitent mobiliser des méthodes expérimentales pour leurs recherches et explorer les mécanismes de prise de décision dans les domaines du management, de la finance ou du marketing. Doté, depuis 2016, d’une salle expérimentale de 100 postes, le LESSAC figure parmi les laboratoires d’économie expérimentale les plus performants de France et d’Europe. 

LE LESSAC REMPLIT 4 MISSIONS DE RECHERCHE :

#1

Apporter des éclairages nouveaux à différentes problématiques relatives à la théorie de la décision, la théorie des jeux, la psychologie ou encore la théorie microéconomique en s’intéressant à l’adaptation par l’individu de ses stratégies empiriques en présence de substituabilités/ complémentarités/actions anticipées d’autres personnes.

#2

Diffusion des travaux dans des publications internationales à comité de lecture, des revues universitaires spécialisées et des revues professionnelles généralistes ou spécialisées en économie, théorie de la décision et management.

#3

En introduisant des méthodes expérimentales dans la pédagogie et l’enseignement et en s’attachant à vulgariser, on vise un transfert de connaissances permettant de dégager des solutions pertinentes à destination des décideurs, et visant à une meilleure compréhension/régulation de la prise de décision.

#4

Un objectif méthodologique via la mise en place de méthodes expérimentales, valables en matière de prise de décision et de collecte de données, et l’élargissement de l’utilisation de ces méthodes impartiales chez les professionnels et les universitaires.

CHAIRE DE RECHERCHE EN ÉVALUATION MEDICO-MARKETING DES ALLÉGATIONS DE SANTÉ (EMMAS)

Créée sous l’impulsion de François-André Allaert, la Chaire EMMAS a pour principaux centres d’intérêt l’évaluation de nouveaux produits avec allégations santé mais aussi l’évaluation de nouveaux comportements de santé des patients/consommateurs.

LE PROGRAMME DE RECHERCHE DE LA CHAIRE S’ORGANISE AUTOUR DE CINQ THÈMES COMPLÉMENTAIRES :

La conception de méthodologies spécifiques aux évaluations des allégations de santé des aliments, alicaments et compléments alimentaires, devenues obligatoires en application de la législation européenne et à leurs applications à des produits de l’alimentation santé et du complément alimentaire.

Le développement des études nutri-épidémiologiques et observationnelles destinées à objectiver le bénéfice-santé rendu dans la réalité du conseil des aliments fonctionnels ou des compléments alimentaires par les médecins et les pharmaciens dans la réalité de la pratique quotidienne.

L’étude des déterminants sociodémographiques et hédoniques dans les choix des produits alimentaires des personnes et dans l’identification du concept de bien-être et de son évaluation par des méthodes quantitatives reproductibles.

La gestion et la sécurisation du recueil des informations personnelles médicales et nutritionnelles utilisées aux fins des études nutri-épidémiologiques et observationnelles, notamment de celles susceptibles d’être extraites des systèmes d’informations des établissements de santé public et privé. Par extension, l’application des méthodes de sécurisation aux nouveaux modes de prise en charge des patients tels que la télémédecine.

Un nouveau thème émergeant, autour des objets connectés.

NOS PARTENAIRES

POUR PLUS D’INFORMATIONS… VOUS POUVEZ CONTACTER :

Angela SUTAN
Coordinatrice de l’axe
+33 (0) 380 725 900
angela.sutan@bsb-education.com

Membres de l’axe